The Dirty Parts of the Bible: A Novel

The Dirty Parts of the Bible: A Novel

Sam Torode

Language: English

Pages: 278

ISBN: 1450567630

Format: PDF / Kindle (mobi) / ePub


"Funny as hell, with a heart as big as Texas"

Semifinalist for the Amazon Breakthrough Novel Award

The Dirty Parts of the Bible is a humorous adventure across America during the Great Depression---a rollicking tale of love and liquor, preachers and prostitutes, trains and treasure, sure to appeal to fans of Water for Elephants, O Brother Where Art Thou?, Mark Twain, and Johnny Cash.

Get the Kindle e-book FREE when you buy the paperback, with Amazon MatchBook.

Publishers Weekly says:

"While the title suggests a raunchy read, this rich and soulful novel is actually a rather well-done bildungsroman [coming-of-age story] steeped in wanderlust and whimsy that at times recalls The Adventures of Huckleberry Finn, and at others a tamer On the Road. The story begins in 1936 as 19-year-old Tobias is thumbing his way from Remus, Mich., to his uncle's farm in Glen Rose, Tex., to find a hidden bag of money, after his father, a Baptist pastor, drunkenly slams his car into the church and is removed from the parsonage. The author does an excellent job in making well-charted territory (riding the rails; scavenged campfire meals under the stars) seem vibrant and new. Snippets of scripture, Southern spirituals, and folk ballads lend context and flavor to the text. Most impressive are the jangly dialogue and the characters' distinctive voices, which are authentic and earthy but not remotely hoary. When Tobias finally arrives at his uncle's, the surprises that await him are more than enough to keep his--and readers'--interests piqued." (Review from the Amazon Breakthrough Novel Award)

"The Dirty Parts of the Bible has it all ... a plot that brings lots of laughs and a few tears, a writing style that is comfortable and matches the story, and characters that are pure joy." --Front Street Reviews

"The Dirty Parts of the Bible is a grown-up Mark Twain-type adventure with lots of spirit and humor." --Reader Views

"A fun read." --The Nashville Scene

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Show sample text content

Download sample

Download

admin